Font size: +
2 minutes reading time (438 words)

March 14, 2024 - March Madness Baby!

Dick Vitale’s All-Rolls Royce Teams


March Madness is awesome, baby! It's that exhilarating time of the year filled with buzzer beaters, heartbreakers, and upsets.
And what a year we’ve witnessed. The reigning national champion UConn Huskies are poised to etch their names in history as they strive to become the first repeat champions since Billy Donovan's tremendous teams of 2006 and 2007.
Behind a formidable defense, the Houston Cougars seamlessly transitioned to the Big 12 and clinched a conference title in their inaugural year.
Zach Edey of Purdue continues to assert his dominance as the premier post player in the nation. He’s on track to secure back-to-back national player of the year honors, a feat last achieved by Virginia's Ralph Sampson in the early 1980s.
While some preseason favorites faltered, others rose to prominence, such as the South Florida Bulls under the guidance of first-year coach Amir Abdur-Rahim and the South Carolina Gamecocks, picked last in the Southeastern Conference, finished in a tie for second.
The preseason all-stars showed brightly, while the new crop of Diaper Dandy’s kept the excitement of the game going.
Now, without further ado, let's unveil my 2023-24 Dickie V All-Rolls Royce and Diaper Dandy teams.
My pick for Player of the Year is none other than Purdue's Zach Edey, a tremendous talent who has earned every individual award and now needs that team title to complete his trophy case.
Reed Sheppard of the Kentucky Wildcats earns the title of Diaper Dandy of the Year. His knack for clutch plays and all-around contribution makes the Wildcats a formidable force in the postseason. He also secures a spot on my All-Star Second Team.
When it comes to defensive prowess, look no further than Houston's Kelvin Sampson, my National Coach of the Year. His ability to consistently mold winning teams is unparalleled.


And now, the rest of the Dickie V All-Rolls Royce teams

Player of the Year: Zach Edey, Purdue Boilermakers

Diaper Dandy of the Year: Reed Sheppard, Kentucky Wildcats

Coach of the Year: Kelvin Sampson, Houston Cougars

First Team

Zach Edey, Purdue Boilermakers

RJ Davis, North Carolina Tar Heels

Dalton Knecht, Tennessee Volunteers

Jaedon LeDee, San Diego State Aztecs

Jamal Shead, Houston Cougars  

Second Team

DaRon Holmes, Dayton Flyers     

Kyle Filipowski, Duke Blue Devils

Tyler Kolek, Marquette Golden Eagles     

Reed Sheppard, Kentucky Wildcats                          

Baylor Scheierman, Creighton Bluejays

Third Team

Hunter Dickinson, Kansas Jayhawks

Johni Broome, Auburn Tigers      

Caleb Love, Arizona Wildcats      

Tristen Newton, UConn Huskies

Mark Sears, Alabama Crimson Tide

Diaper Dandy’s

Reed Sheppard, Kentucky Wildcats                          

Markus Burton, Notre Dame Fighting Irish            

Stephon Castle, UConn Huskies                                 

Isaiah Collier, USC Trojans                                            

Rob Dillingham, Kentucky Wildcats

May 5th, 2024 - GALA UPDATE
February 29, 2024

Quote of the Week

 Keep battling and fighting to achieve your goals! - Dick Vitale